Lake Mills Wrestling competed in the Battle of Waterloo Tournament
(Story from Lake Mills Head Coach Alex Brandengburg)
The Lake Mills wrestling team, along with 30 other schools from around Iowa, traveled to Waterloo for the state’s premier dual tournament December 17 and 18. On the first day of the event, the Bulldogs dropped the opener to Clarion-Goldfield-Dows, 46-27. “We wrestled fairly average in the first dual,” said Coach Alex Brandenburg. “We needed to pull out a couple more of the close matches to have had a chance against a very good team.” In the consolation semifinals, the team received a bye because original first seed Lisbon dropped out of the meet a day prior. After the bye, Wapsie Valley was the opponent in the 5th place dual. Lake Mills wrestled a great dual to top the Warriors, 50-27. “This was the best dual for us over the course of the two day tournament,” Brandenburg said. “The kids really rebounded well from the first round loss.” For Saturday, the Bulldogs were placed in a round robin bracket with the other three teams who placed fifth in their brackets on Friday. A couple large and traditionally powerful schools, North Scott and Cedar Rapids Prairie, were the first two opponents on Saturday. Results were not good for the team, as the Lancers pummeled the Bulldogs 54-15 and Hawks won 46-26. “With how young we are and up against schools the size of these two, we seemed completely outmanned,” Brandenburg noted. “We did wrestle better against Prairie than North Scott but lost too many close matches.” Union of LaPorte City was paired with Lake Mills for the final dual of the tournament, and the Bulldogs captured a tight 42-37 victory. “This was an ugly win, but we will take it.” Brandenburg said. “The Battle of Waterloo was a tough two days for our team, but wrestling some of the best teams in the state will make our kids better in the long run.”
Clarion-Goldfield-Dows 46, Lake Mills 27
285- Daniel Chavez (C) won by forfeit. 106- Lucas Oldenkamp (L) pinned Dietrich Woodley, :40. 113- Hayden Helgeson (L) pinned Reed Reiland, :39. 120- Rigo Bobadilla (C) dec. Geraldo Vazquez, 6-5. 126- Ethan Traub (C) pinned Carter Christianson, :50. 132- Caleb Seaba (C) pinned Justin Rygh, :16. 138- Cale Kirstein (C) maj. dec. Garrett Ham, 16-7. 145- Jackson Beisel (C) dec. Hayden Brua, 12-7. 152- Alex Beaty (L) pinned Luke Brownell, 3:59. 160- Garrett Seaba (C) pinned Beau Kaufman, :55. 170- Brett Peterson (L) won by forfeit. 182- Mack Seaba (C) pinned Austin Stene, 1:36. 195- Wyatt Hanna (W) dec. Nash Lienemann, 6-3. 220- Mason Allen (C) won by forfeit.
Lake Mills 50, Wapsie Valley 27
113- H. Helgeson (L) won by forfeit. 120- Carter Helgeson (L) won by forfeit. 126- Dawson Schmit (W) pinned Vazquez, 2:36. 132- Kanen Decker (W) pinned Christianson, 1:44. 138- Garrett Miller (W) dec. Ham, 10-5. 145- Brua (L) maj. dec. Austin Hesse, 13-5. 152- Beaty (L) tech. fall Drew Lansing, 17-2. 160- Kaufman (L) pinned Jonah Frost, 5:01. 170- Peterson (L) pinned Chase Ackerman, 1:00. 182- Cannon Joerger (W) pinned Stene, :15. 195- Hanna (L) pinned Derek Hilsenbeck, 1:52. 220- Keegon Brown (W) won by forfeit. 285- Broodie Lawson (L) won by forfeit. 106- Oldenkamp (L) tech. fall Brody Kleitsch, 15-0.
North Scott 54, Lake Mills 15
120- Trace Gephart (N) pinned Vazquez, 1:25. 126- Drew Metcalf (N) pinned Jackson Deyle, :47. 132- Cael Straley (N) pinned Rygh, :21. 138- Luke Elgin (N) dec. Ham, 1-0. 145- Adam Link (N) dec. Brua, 3-0. 152- Peyton Westlin (N) dec. Beaty, 3-0. 160- Dylan Marti (N) pinned Kaufman, 2:38. 170- Seth Madden (N) dec. Peterson, 3-1. 182- Ryan Campbell (N) won by forfeit. 195- AJ Peterson (N) won by forfeit. 220- Hanna (L) dec. Nate Schneckloth, 5-0. 285- Dawson Rheingans (N) won by forfeit. 106- Oldenkamp (L) pinned Hayden Ulloa, 1:58. 113- H. Helgeson (L) pinned Ayden Golden, 1:15.
Cedar Rapids Prairie 46, Lake Mills 26
126- Tyler Lee (P) pinned Vazquez, 1:58. 132- Wyatt Vlasek (P) pinned Rygh, :51. 138- Casey Kelly (P) dec. Ham, 7-3. 145- Beaty (L) tech. fall Logan Redig, 16-1. 152- Brua (L) dec. Rigley Koch, 4-0. 160- Nick Smith (P) dec. Kaufman, 3-1. 170- Peterson (L) pinned Cole Smith, 1:19. 182- Tate Joens (P) pinned Stene, 1:16. 195- Hanna (L) pinned Henry Hynek, :42. 220- Muhanned Al-Suleiman (P) won by forfeit. 285- Carter Dawley (P) won by forfeit. 106- Oldenkamp (L) pinned Carson Wold, 1:44. 113- Blake Gioimo (P) pinned C. Helgeson, :42. 120- Alex Bumba (P) maj. dec. H. Helgeson, 10-1.
Lake Mills 42, LaPorte City, Union 37
132- Caleb Olson (U) pinned Deyle, :51. 138- Keegan Ellsworth (U) pinned Ham, 2:29. 145- Brua (L) pinned Dillon Sparks, :22. 152- Hunter Worthen (U) dec. Beaty, 7-3. 160- Peterson (L) won by forfeit. 170- Kaufman (L) won by forfeit. 182- Stene (L) won by forfeit. 195- Dacoda Marvets (U) pinned Hanna, :24. 220- Lawson (L) won by forfeit. 285- Gabe Hanson (U) won by forfeit. 106- Jace Hedeman (U) maj. dec. Oldenkamp, 23-9. 113- Brayden Bohnsack (U) pinned C. Helgeson, :50. 120- H. Helgeson (L) pinned Briar Mast, 2:55. 126- Vazquez (L) won by forfeit.