USDA Designates Eleven Minnesota Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area 1: Minnesota

Triggering Disaster 1: Drought- (Fast Track) S5478

Application Deadline: April 8, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Aitkin, Chisago, Crow Wing, Freeborn, Isanti, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, Steele, Winona

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Minnesota: Anoka, Benton, Carlton, Cass, Dodge, Faribault, Fillmore, Houston, Itasca, Mower, Olmsted, Rice, St. Louis, Sherburne, Stearns, Todd, Wabasha, Waseca, Washington

Iowa: Winnebago, Worth


On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery ToolDisaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Loan Assistance Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender.