Minnesota Pork Board Names 2023 Industry Award Winners

Individuals and families who have made significant contributions through pork promotion, consumer and producer education, youth mentoring, and service to the pork industry were recognized by the Minnesota Pork Board (MPB) at the annual Award Recognition Reception on February 20 at the Mayo Clinic Health System Event Center in Mankato, Minnesota.

This year’s award recipients are:

  • Distinguished Service: Reuben Bode
  • Environmental Steward: Adam Barka
  • Family of the Year: Jim Veldkamp Farm Transition to the Kracht Family
  • Pork Promoter of the Year: Chef Donnie Schoenrock
  • Swine Manager of the Year: Adam Ziemke
  • Legislator of Distinction: Rep. Rod Hamilton

The Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual or group who has contributed to the long-term success of Minnesota pig farmers. To learn more about Reuben Bode, click here.

The Environmental Steward Award recognizes an individual and/or operation demonstrating the positive contributions pig farmers make to the natural environment. To learn more about Adam Barka, click here.

The Family of the Year Award honors a farm family who has contributed to the long-term success of Minnesota’s pig-raising traditions. To learn more about the Jim Veldkamp and the Kracht family, click here.

The Pork Promoter of the Year Award highlights an individual, couple, or family who has done an outstanding job promoting pork products and the raising of pigs. To learn more about Chef Donnie Schoenrock, click here.

The Swine Manager of the Year Award distinguishes an employee (non-owner) who excels in the management and care of pigs. To learn more about Adam Ziemke, click here.

New to the Minnesota Pork Awards line-up is the Legislator of Distinction Award. This award identifies a government ally in St. Paul who fights for pig farmers and agriculture. To learn more about Rep. Rod Hamilton, click here.