State Fair Youth Scholarship Recipients Announced

The Minnesota State Fair has long been invested in the educational endeavors of young adults from greater Minnesota and is pleased to announce the worthy recipients of the Minnesota State Fair Scholarship. The fair is committed to offering scholarship opportunities to deserving youth based on their leadership and achievement in youth livestock programs, as well as their involvement in the local community.

The recipients of the Minnesota State Fair Scholarship are:

  • Emma Ascheman – Benson
  • Isaiah Berger – Mayer
  • Brooke Calteaux – Winona
  • Moriah Geiser – New York Mills
  • Ella Hegland – Northfield
  • Katie Ketchum – Altura
  • Jerson Kopka – Bird Island
  • Gretta Lemke – Watkins
  • Lex Lewison – Owatonna – Trade Scholarship*
  • Alison Murrell – Cambridge
  • Paige Newcomb – White Bear Lake
  • Sophia Poquette – Wanamingo
  • Lauren Rott – Elgin
  • Amanda Sauder – Pine Island
  • Evelyn Scheffler – Zumbrota
  • Cassidy Shute – Austin
  • Madison Simon – Preston
  • Anne Simpson – Pine Island
  • Nathan Skiba – North Branch
  • Shannon Soost – Nicollet
  • Alexis Steckelberg – Blooming Prairie
  • Kaylee Steele – Utica
  • Rachel Visser – Hutchinson

The Minnesota State Fair Scholarship was established in 1994 and annually awards up to 22 scholarships of approximately $1,000 each. *New in 2023, one $2,000 scholarship was awarded to a person of any age entering a skilled trade career or furthering their training. The recipient is Lex Lewison of Owatonna.

Since its inception, nearly $584,000 has been awarded. The Minnesota State Fair Scholarships are funded by the Minnesota State Fair Foundation. These scholarships were available to rural youth or those enrolled in an agriculture program in 2022-23. Information about these scholarships can be found at